California and the upcoming War on Retail

California. No non-grocery posts.
ClownLoach
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

California and the upcoming War on Retail

Post by ClownLoach »

California for several years has been trying to impose its will on municipalities to require them to build more housing - and I think it is starting to boil over and will soon become a war on Retail. Retail property that in the past would be redeveloped into newer, more relevant retail is now being rezoned from commercial to residential. This seems to be starting to pick up steam and I have to think it is going to explode in the next few years. The question is - will this turn out to be a disaster down the line? Are they being short sighted and assuming that everyone will shop online and not need stores? Where will everyone shop if these centers are permanently rezoned to residential?

I have some firsthand experience with many of the sites mentioned below - and I can tell you it is exponentially more difficult to get big box mixed use approved versus standalone zoning of either residential or commercial for some reason in California. Basically once any commercial element is involved the environmental reviews are more complicated and structural requirements are more intense. So it is much easier for a developer to just push to tear down a retail center and go 100% residential with maybe a few small suites for a coffee house below but not more than 5% of the space goes commercial again. Although there is always talk about "mixed use" with stores below and homes on top - it only happens in extremely dense urban areas like Downtown LA and not in suburbs because the cost is too high - and usually it's only profitable in a high rise. That is why you see so little of this mixed use outside of the urban core.

Some examples of this in the OC and neighboring LB area unfolding now: